Dr Daya P Sharma – Cataract, LASIK & Corneal Surgeon in Sydney

Dr Daya Sharma

BSc (Med) Hons I, MBBS, MSc (Research), FRANZCO, GAICD

Cataract & Refractive Surgery, Corneal Surgery, General Ophthalmology

Areas of Expertise:

  • Refractive/Premium Cataract Surgery
  • Laser Vision Correction Procedures (LASIK, ASLA/PRK), Refractive Intraocular Surgery (Implantable lenses, Refractive Lens Exchange)
  • Keratoconus Surgery (Intracorneal ring segment implantation, CXL, DALK, PK)
  • Corneal Graft (DSAEK, DALK, PK)
  • Pterygium Surgery, Ocular Surface Tumours
  • Management of Corneal and External Eye Diseases
  • Designated Aviation Ophthalmologist
  • General Ophthalmology

Dr Daya Sharma is a Corneal, Cataract and Refractive surgeon. He was born and raised in country NSW, before moving to Sydney to study Medicine at The University of New South Wales. He completed his Ophthalmology training at Sydney Eye Hospital and subsequently underwent fellowship training at Moorfields Eye Hospital in London, in his subspecialty interest areas of corneal, cataract and refractive surgery.

Dr Daya Sharma graduated from UNSW with BSc (Med) Honours Class I, MBBS, having completed a year as a Visiting Research Fellow at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Harvard Medical School) in Boston, researching transplantation immunology. He subsequently gained a Masters of Science by Research into corneal disease from the University of NSW. He has multiple publications in the international peer-reviewed scientific literature, and is a regular scientific reviewer for the following international journals: Ophthalmology, the Journal of Cataract & Refractive Surgery and Cornea. He was also co-editor of a textbook on Ophthalmic Clinical Examination for senior ophthalmic trainees and was awarded an ESCRS Young Ophthalmologist grant to study biometry in Vienna, Austria with Professor Oliver Findl.

Dr Daya Sharma is known for his compassionate, honest approach to patients, and for considering the best option to suit the individual’s particular needs and requirements. Dr Daya Sharma’s particular interests include management of refractive error in cataract surgery using advanced biometry , laser vision correction, therapeutic refractive surgery with intrastromal corneal ring segments and topography-guided laser, including non-graft surgical rehabilitation of eyes with keratoconus and irregular astigmatism, microinvasive glaucoma surgery (MIGS), pterygium surgery, and corneal transplantation. He performs LASIK, advanced surface laser ablation (ASLA), transPRK treatments to free patients from glasses or contact lenses.  He also performs therapeutic laser (PTK) for corneal diseases.

Dr Daya Sharma is a Member of the International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS), the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS), the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS),The Cornea Society and the European Cornea Society (EuCornea). He is also a Founding Member of the American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery, a collection of leading ophthalmologists and innovators of healthcare technologies. He is also a Designated Aviation Ophthalmologist (DAO) with CASA, and performs certification examinations for pilots.

Daya has published extensively in ophthalmology:

1. Coşkunseven E, Sharma DP, Jankov MR 2nd, Kymionis GD, Richoz O, Hafezi F. Collagen copolymer toric phakic intraocular lens for residual myopic astigmatism after intrastromal corneal ring segment implantation and corneal collagen crosslinking in a 3-stage procedure for keratoconus. J Cataract Refract Surg. May 2013; 39(5):722-9.

2. Iovieno A, Sharma DP, Wilkins MR. OCT visualization of corneal structural changes in traumatic dislocation of LASIK flap. Int Ophthalmol. Oct 2012; 32(5):459-60.

3. Sharma DP, Sharma S, Wilkins MR. Microbial keratitis after corneal laser refractive surgery (Review). Future Microbiology. 2011; 6:819-31.

4. Papalkar D, Sharma NS, Ooi JL, Sharma S, Francis IC. Pupil blown by a puffer. Lancet. Jul 2004; 364:415.

5. Cheung LM, Papalkar D, Versace P. Traumatic late flap dehiscence and Enterobacter keratitis following Laser In Situ Keratomileusis (LASIK). J Refract Surg. Apr 2006; 22: 402-4.

6. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Unusual cause of visual symptoms after bilateral laser in situ keratomileusis. J Cataract Refract Surg. Feb 2006; 32: 187.

7. Papalkar D, Sharma S, Francis IC, Downie JA. Red eye and a rodent ulcer. Ophthal Plast Reconstr Surg. Mar 2006; 22: 131.

8. Papalkar D, Sharma S, Francis IC, Downie JA, Thanakrishnan G, Hughes LJ. A rapidly fatal case of T-cell lymphoma presenting as idiopathic orbital inflammation. Orbit. Jun 2005; 24: 131-3.

9. Papalkar D, Francis IC, Stoodley M, Kaines A, Sharma S, Kalapesi FB, Wilcsek GA. Cavernous haemangioma in the orbital apex: stereotactic-guided transcranial cryoextraction. Clin Exp Ophthalmol. Aug 2005; 33: 421-3.

10. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Authors’ qualifications and the BJO. Br J Ophthalmol. Sep 2004; 88:1227-8.

11. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Author! Author! Br J Ophthalmol. Apr 2005; 89: 518-9.

12. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Who is the author? Br J Ophthalmol. Jun 2005; 89:784.

13. Papalkar D, Francis IC, Lim R. Comment on ‘What is the direct cost of treatment of acute primary angle closure glaucoma? The Singapore model’. Clin Exp Ophthalmol. Aug 2005; 33: 446.

14. Papalkar D, Francis IC, Wilcsek G. Correction of ectropion in facial paralysis. Plast Reconstr Surg. Feb 2006; 117: 677.

15. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Injections for chalazia? Ophthalmology. Feb 2006; 113: 355-6.

16. Papalkar D, Francis IC. Relative afferent pupillary defect, or afferent pupillary defect? Clin Exp Ophthalmol. Mar 2006; 34: 193.

17. Papalkar D, Francis IC. The ophthalmologist or the optometrist as surgeon. Arch Ophthalmol. Apr 2006; 124: 604.

18. Ooi JL, Sharma NS, Papalkar D, Sharma S, Oakey M, Dawes P, Coroneo MT. Ultraviolet fluorescence photography to detect early sun damage in the eyes of school-aged children. Am J Ophthalmol. Feb 2006; 141: 294-8.

19. Ooi JL, Sharma NS, Sharma S, Papalkar D, Oakey M, Dawes P, Coroneo MT. Ultraviolet fluorescence photography: patterns in established pterygia. Am J Ophthalmol. Jan 2007;143:97-101.

20. Francis IC, Chan DG, Papalkar D, Papas EB, Stapleton F. Videoreflective dacryomeniscometry in normal adults and in patients with functional or primary acquired nasolacrimal duct obstruction. Am J Ophthalmol. Mar 2005; 139:493-7.

21. Sharma NS, Ooi JL, Papalkar D, Sharma S, Francis IC, Fung VS. Pharmacological mydriasis secondary to ipratropium bromide: a cause of unilateral dilated pupil. J Clin Neurosci. Mar 2008;15:320-1.

22. Nguyen EV, Azar D, Papalkar D, McCluskey P. Brimonidine-induced anterior uveitis and conjunctivitis: clinical and histologic features. J Glaucoma. 2008;17:40-2.

23. Sharma NS, Ooi JL, Figueira EC, Rosenberg ML, Masselos K, Papalkar DP, Paramanathan N, Francis IC, Alexander SL, Ferch NI. Patient perceptions of second eye clear corneal cataract surgery using assisted topical anaesthesia. Eye. Apr 2008;22:547-50.

24. Sharma N, Ooi JL, Francis IC, Sharma S, Papalkar D, Kim P, Alexander SL, Schumacher RS. Sudden visual loss after uneventful cataract surgery: Snuff syndrome. J Cataract Refract Surg. Nov 2004; 30:2435-7.

25. Francis IC, Papalkar D, Sharma S, Wilcsek G. Tarsal strip procedure for the correction of tearing. Ophthal Plast Reconstr Surg. Sep 2004; 20:407.

26. Francis IC, Papalkar D, Chan DG, Papas EB, Stapleton F. Nasolacrimal obstruction. Ophthalmol. Jan 2006; 113: 162.

Articles by Dr Daya Sharma